Flexible Spending Account (FSA)
The State of Ohio provides state employees the opportunity to enroll in two IRS tax-favored flexible spending accounts - the Health Care Spending Account (HCSA) and the Dependent Care Spending Account (DCSA). Eligible employees may opt out to enroll in one or both of these accounts to pay for health and dependent care expenses with pre-tax dollars. Deductions are taken each pay and are re-imbursed for IRS-approved expenses before state and federal taxes are taken out, reducing taxable income.
For more information about Flexible Spending Accounts, including qualified expenses, click here.
The State of Ohio provides employees with quality, affordable and competitive medical benefits as a part of the total compensation package. State of Ohio employee medical plans do not contain pre-existing condition exclusions; therefore, coverage is available to you and your eligible dependents regardless of current health or health history. Employees electing coverage are enrolled in the Ohio Med PPO, and are assigned a third party administrator based upon the first three digits of their home ZIP code. Medical coverage begins on the first day of the month following your date of hire.
For more information about the state’s health plan options, what’s covered and rate information, click here.
Prescription Drug Benefits
State employees who are enrolled in the Ohio Med PPO are automatically eligible to receive pharmacy benefits through the state’s pharmacy benefit manager. Employees may opt to fill their prescriptions at a retail pharmacy, or by mail.
Exempt and union-represented employees are eligible for dental coverage effective the first day of the month after completing one year of continuous state service.
For a complete list of covered services, click here.
Exempt and union-represented employees are eligible for vision coverage effective the first day of the month after completing one year of continuous state service.
For plan details, copay information, what’s covered and more, click here.
Specialized mental health and chemical dependency services are provided under a separate program available to all employees enrolled in the Ohio Med PPO. This program provides 24-hour-a-day, seven-day-a-week telephonic assessment and referral services for a variety of behavioral health issues, such as depression, stress, marital and family issues, serious mental illnesses, and chemical dependency.
Family and Medical Leave Act
The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) entitles eligible employees to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period for specified family and medical reasons. As a public agency, the state is a covered employer under the FMLA. To be eligible for FMLA benefits, an employee must have worked for the employer for a total of 12 months and been in active pay status for 1,250 hours during the previous 12 months. For more information about the FMLA, please see
Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Poster and Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Policy.
Full-time employees who have completed one year of continuous state service and part-time employees that have worked 1500 hours or more in the 12 months immediately prior to their disability are eligible to file for disability leave benefits. These medical benefits provide financial and emotional assistance to you and your family in the event that you are unable to perform the duties of your position due to a non-work-related disabling illness, injury or condition.
For more information about the state’s disability leave benefits, click here.
Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Workers' compensation, or work-related disability, is a statutory insurance that provides medical care and/or compensation for illness, injury or death to employees arising out of and in the course of their employment. Additional employer-provided salary continuation benefits are available to the employee if certain conditions are met.
For more information about workers’ compensation, click here.
Basic Life Insurance
Exempt and union-represented employees are eligible for basic life insurance coverage after completing one full year of continuous state service. Enrollment in automatic.
For more details about the state’s basic life insurance plan, click here.
Supplemental Life Insurance
Exempt and union-represented employees are eligible for supplemental life insurance coverage on their date of hire and have 90 days to enroll. You must enroll directly with the carrier.
For more information about supplemental life insurance, click here.
Take Charge! Live Well! Benefits
State employees and spouses that are enrolled in a state medical plan are eligible to participate in chronic condition management programs, health risk assessment, health coaching, online lifestyle programs, health screenings and incentives.
For more details about Take Charge! Live Well!, click here.